Driffield NewsNEWS

Six candidates announced for East Wolds and Coastal by-election

As well as the general election, residents living in East Riding of Yorkshire Council’s East Wolds and Coastal Ward will soon by casting their votes in a by-election.

The council has announced that six candidates are standing in the election, for the ward which covers from Wold Newton and Burton Fleming in the north, down to Nafferton and Hutton Cranswick and across the coast to Barmston and Skipsea.

The candidates are:

● Jonathan Colin Bibb (Conservative)
● Mike Dixon (Labour)
● Andrew Frost (Independent)
● Jane Lloyd (Green)
● Peter Garforth (Yorkshire Party)
● Gary Lugg (Liberal Democrats)

The by-election was called following the resignation of Cllr Charlie Dewhirst.

Cllr Dewhirst was elected to the ward in 2021 and became deputy leader of the authority last year.

His resignation comes after he was selected as the Conservative Party candidate to stand for Bridlington and the Wolds in the next general election, which also takes place on Thursday 4th July.

Mr Dewhirst was selected after Sir Greg Knight, the MP for East Yorkshire, announced he would not be seeking re-election in the new Bridlington and the Wolds constituency.

The full list of candidates for the general election in Bridlington and the Wolds is:

● Maria Bowtell (Reform UK)
● Sarah Carter (Labour)
● Tom Cone (Independent)
● Charlie Dewhirst (Conservative)
● Gill Leek (Green)
● Tim Norman (Yorkshire Party)
● Jayne Phoenix (Liberal Democrats)
● Carlo Verda (SDP)

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please allow ads on our site Ads help pay for our website and content. Switch off your ad-blocker and enjoy.