ERYC Chairman’s Awards 2016

Nominations can now be made for the 2016 East Riding of Yorkshire Council’s Chairman’s Awards.

The annual awards, which are held at a ceremony at The Spa Bridlington in May, are presented to individuals, businesses, clubs and projects that have helped improve the East Riding over the past year.

The awards are split into five categories:

  • community – recognises groups and individuals for their contribution to improving lives of those living in the East Riding with a non-commercial project
  • built heritage – celebrates private homes or business premises that have been sympathetically renovated and restored
  • environment – recognises projects that have made an impact in the environment
  • business – recognises businesses that have helped the economy flourish
  • sport – celebrates local talent and commitment to sports clubs and activities.

The awards include a new sport category for outstanding team/club of the year. This award recognises excellent performance by an East Riding team or club and/or their commitment to developing the sport.

The ceremony is the last official engagement of the chairman before he ends his year in office and these awards will be presented by Councillor Peter Turner.

Councillor Turner said: “These awards give the council the opportunity to honour and thank those individuals, organisations, clubs and businesses from across the East Riding who contribute so much to promote the area as a great place in which to live and work.

“Many local people give up their own time to work for others in a voluntary capacity with no thought of reward and without their efforts, many of the good things that we may take for granted would not happen.

“I’d like people to think about their communities and think if there are people who may fit this description and if so, consider nominating them for a Chairman’s Award.” 

Anyone wishing to submit a nomination should visit
or contact Sarah Asquith, civic officer at East Riding of Yorkshire Council on (01482) 393260.

The closing date for nominations is 31 January 2016.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please allow ads on our site Ads help pay for our website and content. Switch off your ad-blocker and enjoy.