Driffield News

Floodlit cricket first for Driffield

There has been a great response after the opening fixtures of Driffield Town Cricket Club’s Under 12 floodlit tournament and the action continued this evening with Hull taking on Cottingham.

The ladies tournament starts tomorrow night when Driffield face Flixton.

The 2020 season is being extended into October at Kings Mill Road ensuring cricket will be played at least five days a week for the next month, with a festival of junior and women’s cricket.

The inaugural versions of the Under 12 Floodlight Cricket – Covid Cup and Floodlight Cricket Women’s Cup offer cricketers from Driffield and further afield a rare opportunity to play under lights.

The Under 12 fixtures started on Monday 7th September and will take place on Mondays, Tuesdays and Wednesdays before the finals day on Saturday 3rd October.

Players moving into Year 8 this September or aged below are eligible to take part and eight teams – two from Driffield and Beverley, as well as sides from Flixton, Hull, Terrington Hall and Cottingham – have been placed in two groups.

Each team will play one another in their group and the 10-a-side 20 over games will start at 6:15pm on the allocated date, with players wearing coloured clothing.

The top two teams in each group will progress to the finals days.

The fixtures are as follows:

  • Wednesday 9th September – Hull Select X v Cottingham
  • Monday 14th September – Driffield Dynamos v Beverley Braves
  • Tuesday 15th September – Flixton v Terrington Hall
  • Wednesday 16th September – Beverley Beavers v Cottingham
  • Monday 21st September – Driffield Aces v Cottingham
  • Tuesday 22nd September – Beverley Braves v Terrington Hall
  • Wednesday 23rd September – Driffield Aces v Hull Select X
  • Monday 28th September – Beverley Beavers v Hull Select X
  • Tuesday 29th September – Driffield Dynamos v Terrington Hall
  • Wednesday 30th September – Flixton v Beverley Braves
  • Saturday 3rd October – Finals Day

The women’s tournament starts tomorrow (Thursday 10th September) and six teams – Driffield, two Beverley sides, Bridlington, Flixton and Scarborough – will form two groups of three.

All games are eight-a-side and will consist of 16 overs with the top side in each group playing off in the final on Friday 2nd October.

The fixtures are as follows:

  • Thursday 10th September – Flixton v Driffield
  • Friday 11th September – Beverley v Bridlington
  • Thursday 17th September – Beverley v Scarborough
  • Friday 18th September – Flixton v Beverley
  • Thursday 24th September – Driffield v Beverley
  • Friday 25th September – Bridlington v Scarborough
  • Friday 2nd October – Final

Throughout both competitions the bar at Driffield Town Cricket Club will be open for both alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks, whilst food will be on sale inside the clubhouse.

There will also be a raffle, with a the top prize being a high-quality cricket bat worth £150.

The raffle will be drawn after the final on Saturday 3rd October.

“A lot of effort has gone into making these competitions happen, hopefully it will be success and allow local juniors to play a bit more cricket in these difficult times,” said Andy Inns, coach at Driffield Town CC.

“I look forward to welcoming players and supporters at all the games. May the sun shine through September.”

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please allow ads on our site Ads help pay for our website and content. Switch off your ad-blocker and enjoy.